CHRISTMAS MUSIC AND WAR

As an unabashed lover of Christmas songs, I thought I knew them all, but yesterday, I heard this poignant gem for the first time:

In 1972, Marvin Gaye and Forest Hairston wrote “I Want to Come Home for Christmas,” which is sung from the perspective of an American POW in Vietnam. The song got me thinking about being at war and longing for home during the holidays, and I turned to what is probably the most well-known war-time Christmas song, “I’ll Be Home for Christmas”:

Bing Crosby recorded the song, which is about a soldier serving in World War II and longing for his family at Christmastime, in 1943. Both songs are powerful expressions of the loneliness that comes with being far from home during the winter holidays, and they are reminders of what families risk and lose when their loved ones are at war.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “CHRISTMAS MUSIC AND WAR”

  1. Michael Snow Says:

    If you would be interested in looking at this book and maybe considering a review, I’d be glad to send the pdf. http://snowfar4.wix.com/1914-christmas-truce

    Like

Leave a Reply

